Sports News

MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#27
Shawn Kelley
ERA S K
2.55 8 20
Team: TexasHt / Wt: 6-2 / 229
Position: RPBorn: 4/26/1984 Birthplace: Louisville, Kentucky
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 13th Round by Mariners (2007)


Latest News
June 15 6:54 PM PT7:54 PM MT8:54 PM CT9:54 PM ET21:54 ET1:54 GMT9:54 6:54 PM MST8:54 PM EST7:54 PM CST9:24 PM VEN5:54 UAE (+1)8:54 PM CT-Shawn Kelley recorded his eighth save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Texas Rangers defeated the Cincinnati Reds 4-3 on Saturday. Kelley did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.55 ERA and 1.05 WHIP on the season.
June 10 7:40 PM PT8:40 PM MT9:40 PM CT10:40 PM ET22:40 ET2:40 GMT10:40 7:40 PM MST9:40 PM EST8:40 PM CST10:10 PM VEN6:40 UAE (+1)9:40 PM CT-Shawn Kelley blew his fourth save, allowing one run on four hits in 1.0 inning, as the Texas Rangers defeated the Boston Red Sox 4-3 on Monday. Kelley did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.66 ERA and 1.10 WHIP on the season.
June 6 7:52 PM PT8:52 PM MT9:52 PM CT10:52 PM ET22:52 ET2:52 GMT10:52 7:52 PM MST9:52 PM EST8:52 PM CST10:22 PM VEN6:52 UAE (+1)9:52 PM CT-Shawn Kelley recorded his seventh save, allowing no runs on no hits and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Texas Rangers defeated the Baltimore Orioles 4-3 on Thursday. Kelley struck out one, ending the game with a 2.38 ERA and 0.97 WHIP on the season.
June 6 9:32 PM PT10:32 PM MT11:32 PM CT12:32 AM ET0:32 ET4:32 GMT12:32 9:32 PM MST11:32 PM EST10:32 PM CST12:02 AM VEN8:32 UAE11:32 PM CT-Shawn Kelley blew his third save, allowing one run on one hit and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Texas Rangers defeated the Baltimore Orioles 2-1 on Wednesday. Kelley struck out two, ending the game with a 2.49 ERA and 0.97 WHIP on the season.
June 1 4:20 PM PT5:20 PM MT6:20 PM CT7:20 PM ET19:20 ET23:20 GMT7:20 4:20 PM MST6:20 PM EST5:20 PM CST6:50 PM VEN3:20 UAE (+1)6:20 PM CT-Shawn Kelley did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Texas Rangers defeated the Kansas City Royals 6-2 on Saturday. Kelley struck out one, ending the game with a 2.18 ERA and 0.92 WHIP on the season.
May 31 7:46 PM PT8:46 PM MT9:46 PM CT10:46 PM ET22:46 ET2:46 GMT10:46 7:46 PM MST9:46 PM EST8:46 PM CST10:16 PM VEN6:46 UAE (+1)9:46 PM CT-Shawn Kelley did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Texas Rangers defeated the Kansas City Royals 6-2 on Friday. Kelley did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.29 ERA and 0.97 WHIP on the season.
May 29 4:07 PM PT5:07 PM MT6:07 PM CT7:07 PM ET19:07 ET23:07 GMT7:07 4:07 PM MST6:07 PM EST5:07 PM CST6:37 PM VEN3:07 UAE (+1)6:07 PM CT-Shawn Kelley recorded his sixth save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Texas Rangers defeated the Seattle Mariners 8-7 on Wednesday. Kelley struck out one, ending the game with a 2.41 ERA and 1.02 WHIP on the season.
May 26 10:26 PM PT11:26 PM MT12:26 AM CT1:26 AM ET1:26 ET5:26 GMT13:26 10:26 PM MST12:26 AM EST11:26 PM CST12:56 AM VEN9:26 UAE12:26 AM CT-Shawn Kelley fell to 3-1, allowing two runs on three hits in 0.2 innings, as the Texas Rangers lost to the Los Angeles Angels 3-2 on Saturday. Kelley did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.55 ERA and 0.96 WHIP on the season.
May 25 10:25 PM PT11:25 PM MT12:25 AM CT1:25 AM ET1:25 ET5:25 GMT13:25 10:25 PM MST12:25 AM EST11:25 PM CST12:55 AM VEN9:25 UAE12:25 AM CT-Shawn Kelley recorded his fifth save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Texas Rangers defeated the Los Angeles Angels 4-3 on Friday. Kelley struck out one, ending the game with a 1.59 ERA and 0.82 WHIP on the season.
May 22 1:37 PM PT2:37 PM MT3:37 PM CT4:37 PM ET16:37 ET20:37 GMT4:37 1:37 PM MST3:37 PM EST2:37 PM CST4:07 PM VEN0:37 UAE (+1)3:37 PM CT-Shawn Kelley recorded his fourth save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Texas Rangers defeated the Seattle Mariners 2-1 on Wednesday. Kelley struck out two, ending the game with a 1.69 ERA and 0.81 WHIP on the season.
May 21 8:08 PM PT9:08 PM MT10:08 PM CT11:08 PM ET23:08 ET3:08 GMT11:08 8:08 PM MST10:08 PM EST9:08 PM CST10:38 PM VEN7:08 UAE (+1)10:08 PM CT-Shawn Kelley recorded his third save, allowing one run on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Texas Rangers defeated the Seattle Mariners 5-3 on Tuesday. Kelley did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 1.80 ERA and 0.73 WHIP on the season.
May 9 1:48 PM PT2:48 PM MT3:48 PM CT4:48 PM ET16:48 ET20:48 GMT4:48 1:48 PM MST3:48 PM EST2:48 PM CST4:18 PM VEN0:48 UAE (+1)3:48 PM CT-Kelley, who had two lumps surgically removed from his throat, is coming off the injured list Tuesday against the Mariners. Kelley says an initial biopsy on the lumps was inconclusive, so doctors removed a couple of ''decent-sized'' lumps on Thursday. The 35-year-old was put on the injured list May 9, five days after he last pitched.
Analysis: Kelley says he noticed the issue early this season. He had the lumps checked this month after they got bigger and bothersome. He's awaiting the results, but on Saturday says he feels great. Kelley is 3-0 with two saves and a 1.29 ERA in 14 appearances in his first season with the Rangers.
May 4 8:10 PM PT9:10 PM MT10:10 PM CT11:10 PM ET23:10 ET3:10 GMT11:10 8:10 PM MST10:10 PM EST9:10 PM CST10:40 PM VEN7:10 UAE (+1)10:10 PM CT-Shawn Kelley recorded his second save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Texas Rangers defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 8-5 on Saturday. Kelley did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 1.29 ERA and 0.71 WHIP on the season.
May 4 9:11 PM PT10:11 PM MT11:11 PM CT12:11 AM ET0:11 ET4:11 GMT12:11 9:11 PM MST11:11 PM EST10:11 PM CST11:41 PM VEN8:11 UAE11:11 PM CT-Shawn Kelley walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Texas Rangers lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 1-0 on Friday. Kelley struck out one, ending the game with a 1.38 ERA and 0.77 WHIP on the season.
May 1 9:25 PM PT10:25 PM MT11:25 PM CT12:25 AM ET0:25 ET4:25 GMT12:25 9:25 PM MST11:25 PM EST10:25 PM CST11:55 PM VEN8:25 UAE11:25 PM CT-Shawn Kelley allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Texas Rangers lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 6-4 on Tuesday. Kelley struck out one, ending the game with a 1.50 ERA and 0.75 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 27 11:59 PM PT12:59 AM MT1:59 AM CT2:59 AM ET2:59 ET6:59 GMT14:59 11:59 PM MST1:59 AM EST12:59 AM CST2:29 AM VEN10:59 UAE1:59 AM CT-Shawn Kelley did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Texas Rangers lost to the Seattle Mariners 5-4 on Friday. Kelley struck out one, ending the game with a 1.64 ERA and 0.73 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 21 3:30 PM PT4:30 PM MT5:30 PM CT6:30 PM ET18:30 ET22:30 GMT6:30 3:30 PM MST5:30 PM EST4:30 PM CST6:00 PM VEN2:30 UAE (+1)5:30 PM CT-Shawn Kelley recorded his first save, allowing no runs on no hits in 0.1 innings, as the Texas Rangers defeated the Houston Astros 11-10 on Sunday. Kelley struck out one, ending the game with a 1.80 ERA and 0.80 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 20 8:01 PM PT9:01 PM MT10:01 PM CT11:01 PM ET23:01 ET3:01 GMT11:01 8:01 PM MST10:01 PM EST9:01 PM CST10:31 PM VEN7:01 UAE (+1)10:01 PM CT-Shawn Kelley improved to 3-0, allowing one hit over 1.2 scoreless innings, as the Texas Rangers defeated the Houston Astros 9-4 on Saturday. Kelley did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 1.86 ERA and 0.83 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 17 8:31 PM PT9:31 PM MT10:31 PM CT11:31 PM ET23:31 ET3:31 GMT11:31 8:31 PM MST10:31 PM EST9:31 PM CST11:01 PM VEN7:31 UAE (+1)10:31 PM CT-Shawn Kelley allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Texas Rangers defeated the Los Angeles Angels 5-4 on Wednesday. Kelley struck out two, ending the game with a 2.25 ERA and 0.88 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 12 8:28 PM PT9:28 PM MT10:28 PM CT11:28 PM ET23:28 ET3:28 GMT11:28 8:28 PM MST10:28 PM EST9:28 PM CST10:58 PM VEN7:28 UAE (+1)10:28 PM CT-Shawn Kelley blew his first save, allowing one run on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Texas Rangers lost to the Oakland Athletics 8-6 on Friday. Kelley struck out one, ending the game with a 2.57 ERA and 0.86 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 11 10:22 PM PT11:22 PM MT12:22 AM CT1:22 AM ET1:22 ET5:22 GMT13:22 10:22 PM MST12:22 AM EST11:22 PM CST12:52 AM VEN9:22 UAE12:22 AM CT-Shawn Kelley allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Texas Rangers defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 5-2 on Wednesday. Kelley struck out one, ending the game with a 1.50 ERA and 0.83 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 7 4:41 PM PT5:41 PM MT6:41 PM CT7:41 PM ET19:41 ET23:41 GMT7:41 4:41 PM MST6:41 PM EST5:41 PM CST7:11 PM VEN3:41 UAE (+1)6:41 PM CT-Shawn Kelley allowed one run on two hits in 1.0 inning as the Texas Rangers lost to the Los Angeles Angels 7-2 on Sunday. Kelley did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 1.80 ERA and 0.80 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 3 7:48 PM PT8:48 PM MT9:48 PM CT10:48 PM ET22:48 ET2:48 GMT10:48 7:48 PM MST9:48 PM EST8:48 PM CST10:18 PM VEN6:48 UAE (+1)9:48 PM CT-Shawn Kelley allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Texas Rangers defeated the Houston Astros 4-0 on Wednesday. Kelley struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.50 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 2 8:34 PM PT9:34 PM MT10:34 PM CT11:34 PM ET23:34 ET3:34 GMT11:34 8:34 PM MST10:34 PM EST9:34 PM CST11:04 PM VEN7:34 UAE (+1)10:34 PM CT-Shawn Kelley improved to 2-0, allowing one hit over 1.1 scoreless innings, as the Texas Rangers defeated the Houston Astros 6-4 on Tuesday. Kelley struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.33 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 30 8:58 PM PT9:58 PM MT10:58 PM CT11:58 PM ET23:58 ET3:58 GMT11:58 8:58 PM MST10:58 PM EST9:58 PM CST11:28 PM VEN7:58 UAE (+1)9:58 PM CT-Shawn Kelley improved to 1-0, allowing no hits over 1.1 scoreless innings, as the Texas Rangers defeated the Chicago Cubs 8-6 on Saturday. Kelley struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.00 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 28 4:18 PM PT5:18 PM MT6:18 PM CT7:18 PM ET19:18 ET23:18 GMT7:18 4:18 PM MST6:18 PM EST5:18 PM CST6:48 PM VEN3:18 UAE (+1)5:18 PM CT-Shawn Kelley did not allow a hit or walk in 0.1 scoreless innings as the Texas Rangers lost to the Chicago Cubs 12-4 on Thursday. Kelley struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.00 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2009 Sea 5 4 0 - 4 41 0 0 46.0 45 23 23 9 9 1 41 1.17 4.50
2010 Sea 3 1 0 - 0 22 0 0 25.0 26 11 11 5 12 2 26 1.52 3.96
2011 Sea 0 0 0 - 0 10 0 0 12.2 7 0 0 0 3 1 10 0.79 0.00
2012 Sea 2 4 0 - 2 47 0 0 44.1 43 20 16 5 15 6 45 1.31 3.25
2013 NYY 4 2 0 - 1 57 0 0 53.1 47 28 26 8 23 2 71 1.31 4.39
2014 NYY 3 6 4 - 7 59 0 0 51.2 45 26 26 5 20 4 67 1.26 4.53
2015 SD 2 2 0 - 0 53 0 0 51.1 41 18 14 4 15 4 63 1.09 2.45
2016 Was 3 2 7 - 9 67 0 0 58.0 41 19 17 9 11 2 80 0.90 2.64
2017 Was 3 2 4 - 6 33 0 0 26.0 29 21 21 12 11 1 25 1.54 7.27
2018 Was 1 0 0 - 1 35 0 0 32.1 26 12 12 7 5 1 32 0.96 3.34
2018 Oak 1 0 0 - 1 19 0 0 16.2 7 4 4 0 6 2 18 0.78 2.16
2018 Tot 2 0 0 - 2 54 0 0 49.0 33 16 16 7 11 3 50 0.90 2.94
2019 Tex 3 1 8 - 12 25 0 0 24.2 21 7 7 4 5 0 20 1.05 2.55
Career 30 24 23 - 43 468 0 0 442.0 378 189 177 68 135 26 498 1.16 3.60

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2016 Was 67 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2018 Was 35 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2018 Tot 54 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 468 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2016 Was Total 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 1.2 1 0 0 0 0 0 3 0.00
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 1.2 1 0 0 0 0 0 3 0.00
2018 Oak Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0.00
    WC 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0.00
Career 0 0 0 - 0 3 0 0 2.2 2 0 0 0 0 0 3 0.00


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 143 95 89 92 40.74
Slider 208 87 78 82 59.26

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2019 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.